Skip to content

PHS Cross Country Runners are STATE BOUND!!!

702 Reads


PHS Women's XC Team Qualifies for State

The Prattville Women’s Cross Country Team is state bound!!!  The AHSAA 7A Section Championship meet was held Thursday in Auburn.   Despite the unseasonably hot weather causing slower times than usual, the Lady Lions were able to keep their cool and get the job done by placing third and qualifying the varsity team to compete at the State Championship meet next Saturday November 12th at the Jesse Owens course in Danville, Alabama.  Four runners from the PHS Men’s team also qualified to compete at the state meet as individuals.

The five 7A schools that competed in the women’s race placed as follows:  1-Auburn-15pts, 2-Enterprise-49pts, 3-Prattville-81pts, 4-Smiths Station-114pts, 5-Jeff Davis-153pts. The fastest time was 19:38. Sophomore, Sophia Loy led the Prattville team which scored as follows:

  • Sophia Loy (So.) – 22:55, 16 overall, 13 pts
  • Kendra Jacobs (So.) –  23:23, 17 overall, 14 pts
  • Katlyn Gappa (So.) –  23:40, 18 overall, 15 pts
  • Lindsay Gappa (So.) – 24:47, 26 overall, 19 pts
  • Susan Short (Jr.) – 24:49, 27 overall, 20 pts
  • Savannah Cowart (Sr.) –  25:08, 29 overall, 22 pts
  • Karlie Lugen (So.) –  25:43, 30 overall, 23 pts

The six 7A schools that competed in the men’s race placed as follows:  1-Auburn-17pts, 2-Smiths Station-46, 3-Enterprise-99pts, 4-Prattville-106pts, 5-Central Phenix City-146pts, 6-Jeff Davis-165pts. The fastest time was 16:02.  Eighth grader, Gabe Rissman led the Prattville team which scored as follows:

  • Gabe Rissman (8th Gr.) – 18:31, 22 overall, 18 pts – PR
  • Lukas Davis (Sr.) – 18:34, 23 overall, 19 pts
  • Kevin Jacobs (Sr.) – 18:39, 24 overall, 20 pts
  • Deland Saville (Sr.) – 18:42, 25 overall, 21 pts
  • Nathan Bowden (Sr.) – 19:31, 35 overall, 28 pts
  • Garner Phillips (So.) – 19:45, 37 overall, 29 pts
  • Chris Jones (So.) – 20:22, 39 overall, 31 pts

The top 3 teams qualify for states.  Of the teams that do not qualify, the top six times qualify to compete at state as individuals. Congratulations to Gabe Rissman (the only one to PR at this race), Lukas Davis, Kevin Jacobs, & Deland Saville who all qualified to run at state as individuals.

State Qualifiers: Lukas Davis, Deland Saville, Gabe Rissman, & Kevin Jacobs

State Qualifiers: Lukas Davis, Deland Saville, Gabe Rissman, & Kevin Jacobs

  • Latest Photo Galleries

    View More Galleries



    Meet The Lions/Cats Tomorrow 6:30 at Stanley-Jensen Stadium. Varsity and Jr High Football players and cheerleaders. Pride of Prattville Band

    Yesterday · reply · retweet · favorite